Magazine Post 1- Robert Daniel

My magazine, Climbing, obviously caters to climbers, but the content is relevant from beginners to pros. I enjoy reading tips and learning about areas that are suitable for my skill level. However, it acknowledges the giants of the sport, and devotes a lot of content to the great climbers today (as well they should). A crucial element to the magazine, especially in telling the story of pro climbers, is the photography. I always enjoy the photos of ridiculous humans doing ridiculous, seemingly in-human moves on the rock. In the February issue of Climbing, the magazine revealed the winners of the 2012 Golden Piton Awards for the best categorical feats in climbing from the previous year. (For example, best big wall climb, best mountaineering ascent, best crack climb, etc…climbing is an umbrella term for very different technical sports). In this feature, the winners’ feats are described with an accompanying photo of the feat being performed.

When I achieve a personal goal in climbing, I’m excited, but then I look at pictures like this…: (Where’s Waldo in this picture is Dani Andrada, winner of a Golden Piton for sport climb of the year).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Viewing feats like this keeps me, and most likely thousands of other readers motivated, to work towards a climbing project that is in the same ballpark as this (I can’t even see this “ballpark,” much less be inside it). It is great to see these incredible athletic achievements recognized by a widely distributed publication, despite being dwarfed by the obvious more popular sports in the world. I’d like to see LeBron or Kobe up there….just sayin’

Leave a comment